DUIs in Wisconsin
Driving after drinking is never a good idea. If you’re planning on going out to drink and have not prepared a ride, stop and think about that decision. If you’ve recently been caught driving under the influence, an experienced attorney in Wauwatosa, WI should be the first person you call.
First, it’s important to remember that Wisconsin is an implied consent state, this means that when driving you are required to comply with law enforcement officers’ requests for chemical tests; this also applies if you’ve passed away or are unconscious. If you’re not willing to comply, the court believes this implies guilt. You can face losing your license for a year in this circumstance. A Breathalyzer can be refused because the results of a Breathalyzer are just preliminary.
- The BAC in Wisconsin, like many states, is 0.08; for commercial drivers it is 0.04.
- Many fines are doubled if you’re driving under the influence with a pregnant passenger or with a minor (16 and under) in the car.
There are different penalties you can face if you are caught driving under the influence. A first time DUI in Wisconsin is labeled a traffic offense, opposed to a crime. You will face a fine anywhere between $100-$500 and will lose your license anywhere from 6-9 months.
A second DUI offense is considered a crime and you will face much higher penalties, sometimes even jail time. If your BAC is above 0.15, you might even be required to install a mandatory ignition interlock device, which would make you blow to get your BAC levels before you could start your car. You’d have to blow below the legal BAC levels.
If driving under the influence causes a car accident or a death, you will face even more penalties. You could lose your license for up to 5 years and spend up to 25 years in jail, and face a fine of up to $100,000.
If you’re facing a DUI charge, it’s always best to hire an attorney. Please call us at 414-259-9300. We have a team of attorney’s that specialize in DUI cases in Wauwatosa, WI and surrounding Wisconsin areas including Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee, Washington, Racine and Kenosha Counties.
Posted on: Tuesday, November 10th, 2015
Categories: DUI Questions